• Hi there guest! Welcome to PoliticalJack.com. Register for free to join our community?

Famous movies I haven't seen until now. Today's installment: The Big Chill

C

Capitalist

A group of college friends from the 60s reunite to pay a friend who killed himself their last respects.

Alternate title for this post: Generation X. A perspective.

Ugh. I'm glad I had a couple glasses of port in me otherwise I wouldn't have been able to finish that movie. Born in 1968, I was 17 in 86 when I graduated from high school. My most formative years were spent in reemerging entrepreneurship, 80s music, and Reagan. Thank God! This is who I am.

Contrast that with the movie--a bunch of self absorbed, self important, adult children who, by their 30s, can't seem to manage the jump into adult life. No wonder one of them kills himself! It was like watching a slow motion train wreck. A bunch of thirty-somthing hippies get together and wonder whatever became of them!? They now drive Mercedes and Cadillacs and Porsches. Oh my! One hippy turned real estate lawyer is hearing her biological clock tick loud and clear. And like a spoiled brat wanting a pony. . .she wants a baby. Not a husband, not a father, just a baby. And she wants it now! But this guy is not right, that guy is taken, this one's too hot, this one's too cold, nobody is just right. Until. . ! Oh joy! The married one gets a hall pass from his wife! Yay! She'll fuk the married guy to have a baby who won't have a father (meh! Who needs men anyway? Enter Jordan Peterson, Stefan Molyneux, Gavin McInnes, and @freyasman bearing the hammer of truth!) These people are wondering what the hell went wrong with them. Well, for starters. . .stop fukking each others' spouses!

NEXT!!!