• Hi there guest! Welcome to PoliticalJack.com. Register for free to join our community?

Another Example of Our MISeducation System. This Time It's Music.

protectionist

Governor
It seems like about every couple of months I discover another example of how far off the mark "our" education system is. Isn't it enough that we go through 16 years of schooling without a word being said about the LAWS that we are required to abide by ? And not a word is mentioned or instructed about guns or law enforcement, or how we NEED to behave when in a police confrontation ?..(if we want to stay alive that is).

So now it's music. Well, I might have known that our know-it-alls running the schools would botch that up too. I'm a music teacher in private industry, and it just came to my knowledge that one of our local schools is teaching kids to play the guitar, by reading standard classical musical notation.

For their edification, for most types of music (really for any type) the guitar and standard musical notation are not a well-matched pair. There might be an association for individuals (not orchestras) who play classical guitars, but to pair a modern electric guitar with standard musical notation, is about like pairing a Toyota with a horse saddle.

I use standard musical notation to play classical music by Bach and Beethoven on the violin and mandolin. But these have much fewer notes than a guitar. Looking at the long fingerboard of a guitar, you can find numerous choices of any single note. How many Gs are there ? How many Ds ? The disadvantage of the standard musical score is that it does not tell us WHICH G or D or A or C it wants us to play.